Sports EverGreen

Litton Das Returns to Bangladesh, The Bangladesh Test squad announcement for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship series against Sri Lanka has brought notable inclusions and significant developments, sparking intrigue and anticipation among cricket enthusiasts.

Wicketkeeper-batter Litton Das is set to make a compelling return to the Test side after being absent during the previous series against New Zealand due to paternity leave. This resurgence in his career, following his omission from the ODI squad due to a period of subdued form, showcases the selectors’ confidence in his capabilities. With 39 Tests under his belt and a commendable average of 36.27, Litton Das’s reinstatement brings experience and depth to the team, especially considering his role as the designated wicketkeeper in 28 of these Test matches.

The exclusion of Nurul Hasan, who deputized for Litton during the home Test series against New Zealand, sets the stage for a reshaped lineup, while also reflecting the selectors’ strategic vision for the team’s composition.

Litton Das Returns to Bangladesh

The 15-member squad introduces promising talents in the form of newbie pacers Nahid Rana and Mushfik Hasan. Notably, former Bangladesh player and current selection panel member Abdur Razzak has expressed optimism about Rana’s potential, highlighting his pace and ability to generate steep bounce. The infusion of youthful, dynamic bowlers into the lineup highlights the team’s forward-thinking strategy, in light of the absence of senior pacer Ebadot Hossain, who is still recuperating from a major knee injury.

This series marks Najmul Hossain Shanto’s first assignment as the full-time captain of the Test team since assuming leadership across all three formats last month. The transition in leadership adds an additional layer of significance to this upcoming series, as the team looks to align under his stewardship.

With these developments, the Bangladesh Test squad is poised for an engaging and pivotal series against Sri Lanka, commencing on 22nd March in Sylhet, followed by the subsequent encounter in Chattogram from 30th March.

Bangladesh Test Squad:

  • Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain)
  • Zakir Hasan
  • Mahmudul Hasan Joy
  • Shadman Islam
  • Litton Kumer Das
  • Mominul Haque Showrab
  • Mushfiqur Rahim
  • Shahadat Hossain Dipu
  • Mehidy Hasan Miraz
  • Nayeem Hasan
  • Taijul Islam
  • Shoriful Islam
  • Syed Khaled Ahmed
  • Mushfik Hasan
  • Nahid Rana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *