Sports EverGreen

East Asia Pacific

In 2024, the East Asia-Pacific (EAP) region is set to host a significant series of ICC Pathway Events, marking a historic year for cricket in this part of the world. The events encompass competitions across Senior Men’s, U19 Women’s, and U19 Men’s categories, engaging all nine Associate Members of the EAP in a quest for qualification to the ICC World Cup in their respective formats.

The series kicks off in Indonesia, where Bali will host the second ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup EAP Qualifier. The inaugural event in 2022, held in Bali, saw Indonesia qualify for their first-ever ICC World Cup, a milestone that remains a proud memory for the nation and its cricket community.

After Indonesia hosts its event, Samoa will take the stage by hosting two cricket tournaments in a row: the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup EAP Division 2 Qualifier and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Sub-Regional Qualifier A. These events will showcase Samoa’s commitment to cricket and allow it to share its culture and hospitality globally.

South Korea

The final event in the series will be hosted by South Korea, marking the 10th Anniversary of cricket’s inclusion in the 2014 Asian Games. This will be the first time South Korea has hosted an ICC event, signifying a significant step in the country’s cricket development efforts and its ambition to introduce cricket to a wider audience.

Officials from the hosting nations have expressed pride and excitement about the opportunity to bring international cricket to their shores, emphasizing the importance of these events in promoting the sport, fostering community unity, and providing a platform for young athletes to showcase their talent and aspire for greater achievements, including participation in future Olympic events.

Rob Gomm, ICC Regional Development Manager – EAP, highlighted the importance of the year 2024 for cricket in the EAP region, expressing confidence in the host nations’ ability to deliver world-class events that will capture the attention of the cricketing world and bring pride to their communities.

Here’s a simplified schedule of the 2024 ICC cricket events:

  1. ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup EAP Qualifier
    • Where: Bali, Indonesia
    • When: May 14-20
    • Teams: Fiji, Indonesia, PNG, Samoa
  2. ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup EAP Division 2 Qualifier
    • Where: Apia, Samoa
    • When: August 6-10
    • Teams: Indonesia, PNG, Samoa, Vanuatu
  3. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Sub-Regional Qualifier A
    • Where: Apia, Samoa
    • When: August 17-24
    • Teams: Cook Islands, Fiji, Samoa, Vanuatu
  4. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Sub-Regional Qualifier B
    • Where: Incheon, South Korea
    • When: September 28 – October 5
    • Teams: Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, South Korea

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *